Skip to content

AlterWorld, an exploration of the world through the mind’s eye of science fiction

August 3, 2011

My name is Dr. Norman J. LaFave, and I am a scientist, engineer, educator, and author. My debut novel, Nanomagica, was recently published by Trapdoor Books (www.trapdoorbooks.com), and is available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble Online. It is a techno thriller about the unforeseen effects of nanotechnology and genetic engineering on the future . I hope that you will read it and let me know what you think.

What does science fiction have to say about how our current politics, policies, events, and technology affect society in the future? How do these topics influence my writing? I will discuss themes from my writing (Nanomagica and current writing projects) in the context of how the present becomes the future. I am anxious to hear your thoughts on the topics from my posts. My goal is to invoke discussion, speculation, and good-natured debate. I hope you will subscribe to my blog and join me in an exploration of AlterWorld.

Cheers!

Norman

4 Comments
  1. Congratulations on getting published. One of the things I have found interesting in Science Fiction is the use of mind enhancing drugs. In the sixties, the highly speculative use of LSD and other drugs moved little in that direction but now we have drugs that actually mimic brain chemicals and there are new ones each year. The idea of a mentat is not that strange anymore. We may be able to manipulate our intelligence and perceptions in the near future.

    Best wishes for your continued success.

    James Pilant

  2. Thanks so much for your support, James, I agree with you regarding the theme of mind enhancement via drugs. Of course, nobody explored this concept better than Frank Herbert did in Dune. My novel Nanomagica takes a different approach to this. The chemical enhancement is done via chemicals with programmed robotic capabilities on the micro-scale. I describe a sequence in the novel in which the human body and mind is reconstituted and enhanced by a sequence of steps mediated by these nanobots.
    By the way, I was just reading your blog on ethics…good stuff! Feel free to contribute on my blog anytime. Thanks again.
    Norman

  3. Yolanda permalink

    Congratulations on publishing! I look forward to reading your book as well as your blog. Your story sounds very intriguing. Can’t wait to dive in. I’ll be sure to let you know what I think of it.

  4. Why thank you kindly. I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

