Skip to content

Some of the authors that inspired me to write…

September 1, 2011

I was talking with a reader of mine the other day who asked me what authors and novels inspired me. After some thought…

  • Frank Herbert – Herbert’s Dune is, in my opinion, one of the finest and most complex novels ever written. I have read it three times and I am still amazed at the richness of the worlds and characters he created. Technology, politics, psychology, mysticism…it has it all. The sequels are decent and worth a read, but that first book is a classic. Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson’s Dune books are surprisingly good.
  • Peter Hamilton – I have read everything Mr. Hamilton has produced but it was the Night’s Dawn Trilogy that hooked me. Interesting worlds, political intrigue, a touch of horror, sexual escapades, and likeable characters, make these books a must read. These books also contain the most evil character I have ever found in a novel.
  • Isaac Asimov – From the robot novels to the pre-foundation novels to The Foundation Trilogy, Asimov is a master. His novels captured unique themes such as the decay of empires, and the psychology of sentient robots. He was a major influence for my thinking when I wrote my novel, Nanomagica.
  • Dan Simmons – I loved Hyperion. But the sequels floored me. His concept of worlds linked by portals fascinated me, especially the idea of houses with rooms on different planets. These books rival Dune for richness of scenes and characters. I am reading Illium now and again, Simmons brings unique ideas to the reader.
  • Arthur C. ClarkChildhood’s End still disturbs me.
  • Micheal Crichton – I am not crazy about many f his later novels, but Andromeda Strain and Terminal Man were ahead of their time.
  • H. G. Wells – What can I say? He opened the world of science fiction to me. War of the Worlds….classic!
  • Jules Verne – The other earliest influence. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea is a favorite of my childhood.
  • Robert Heinlein – Stranger in a Strange Land was truly unique.
  • Ray Bradbury – I like almost everything he wrote.

Let me hear about your favorites.

7 Comments
  1. Yolanda permalink

    Wow, I have a lot of reading to catch up on.What do you think of William Gibson’s “Neuromancer”? I’ll be reading that one soon.

    My influences have been Marianne de Pierre’s Dark Space saga, Jack Campbell’s Lost Fleet saga, and of course my personal favorites Aldous Huxley, J.R.R Tolkien, C.S. Lewis & Orson Scott Card.

  2. I haven’t read Gibson’s novel yet but I will definitely put it on my list. I love Tolkien and Lewis. Looks like I hae a few new ones to catch up on too!

  3. I’ve been reading SF too long to even remember every favorite author I’ve had, but here are a few that influenced my world view and/or my writing:
    –Ursula K. LeGuin (particularly The Dispossessed and The Left Hand of Darkness, and stories set in the world of the latter)
    –Octavia Butler (favorite: Wild Seed)
    –Robert Heinlein (his libertarian “middle” period)
    –Frank Herbert’s Dune (not so much the rest of the series)
    –Zenna Henderson’s The Pilgrimage and The People: No Different Flesh
    –Here’s an author who is not a SF author, exactly, but wrote two fantastic SF novels: Mary Doria Russell’s The Sparrow and (sequel) The Children of God
    –And finally, a recently discovered favorite, with wonderful character relationships and just the right touch of vivid description: Kelley Eskridge’s Solitaire.

  4. I will check them out! Thanks Karen and welcome to AlterWorld. On the Fantasy front… The Belgariad and Mallorean series are excellent.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Book Review: Dune | Story Treasury
  2. Childhood’s End, Arthur C. Clark (Del Rey Books, 1953){Brilliance Audio/Audible Inc, 2008; Narrator: Eric Michael Summerer, with Introduction by Robert J. Sawyer} | The Archaeologist's Guide to the Galaxy.. by Thomas Evans
  3. Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos 1), Dan Simmons (Bantam Books, 1989) | The Archaeologist's Guide to the Galaxy.. by Thomas Evans

Leave a Reply

