Skip to content

The ultimate evil characters in science fiction…

September 18, 2011

In my Metropolis Fallen series (Nanomagica and the upcoming Evolegicon), I have created what I believe to be a man with no redeeming qualities…evil incarnate. This got me thinking about other evil characters in the genre. Who is the most evil character in sci fi?

I remember the scene in The Empire Strikes Back where Darth Vader is calmly giving orders to a new commander while he uses The Dark Force to strangle his predecessor. At the time, I thought this was an example of what real evil should be like…no anger…no consideration of the act…just sheer dismissal of the act of murder and the murdered.

Later, I had to give evil props to Vladimir Harkonen in Dune. Here was a man, a ruler, that had enslaved his entire populace, and was an insatiable pedophile.

But I have to give the award for pure evil to Peter Hamilton’s Quinn Dexter from The Night’s Dawn Trilogy. Quinn is an avid satanist, a man who relishes murder, rape, and torture; adults, children, men, women, elderly, or very young…all of them are sadistic playthings to Quinn. Acts of evil aren’t a means to an end to Quinn, but the end itself. But what really makes him so unsettling is that his evil is the source of his power. Evil isn’t some all encompassing mystical force like Darth Vader employs, but an inherent evil within his being that he uses to rain havoc on the universe.

It is my hope that my character measures up to Quinn while being unique.

Let’s hear about your choice for most evil.

2 Comments
  1. I’d have to agree with you on that on, Norman. But I would say the most evil genius would be Emperor Palpatine a.k.a Darth Sidius. This man single-handedly brought down the entire Republic and destroyed 98% of the Jedi. And nobody had a clue that he was the Sith Lord or was playing everybody like a Stradivarius violin. He even tricked the most powerful Jedi, Anakin Skywalker, into becoming his servant/pupil.

    I would include the Borg; however, they do not work in emotion. They actually believe that what they are doing is justified.

  2. Jay permalink

    I think that there are some cool suggestions here; but can I open the door to Daleks, What an evil monster! The very thought of a species that is prepared to “EX-TER-MIN-ATE” its own kind just to eradicate any other form of life originally on its own planet and then the universe. All so that they are supreme and they rule over all!.

    I do not believe that I have done the daleks the true evil, that they truly deserve, LOL…

Leave a Reply

